Early Candidate Filings Set Up Contested Races For GOP Lawmakers | WGLT

Early Candidate Filings Set Up Contested Races For GOP Lawmakers

Nov 27, 2017

Candidates for next year’s elections began filing their petitions Monday, setting up at least two contested races for longtime Republican state lawmakers and another one for McLean County Board.

Candidates from established political parties have until Dec. 4 to file their petitions to get on the ballot for the primary March 20, 2018. Some rushed to file their petitions Monday morning to guarantee favorable placement on the primary ballot. The general election is Nov. 6.

State Rep. Dan Brady, R-Bloomington, and GOP primary challenger David Paul Blumenshine from Normal both filed Monday to run for the 105th House District, which includes parts of Bloomington-Normal. Brady, part of the House GOP leadership, has not faced a primary challenge since winning his seat in 2000. That year he narrowly won a three-way primary by just 47 votes.

State Rep. Keith Sommer, R-Morton, filed to run for re-election in the 88th House District, which includes portions of south Bloomington, McLean, Danvers, and Stanford. Also filing in that district was Democrat Jill Blair of Bloomington. Blair would be Sommer’s first general election opponent since 2008.

Two Republicans have also filed in the 101st House District, which includes LeRoy, Heyworth, and Farmer City. They are Todd Henricks from Cerro Gordo and Dan Caulkins from Decatur. Incumbent state Rep. Bill Mitchell, R-Forsyth, is not seeking re-election in the 101st District.

There were no surprises early Monday in Bloomington-Normal’s two congressional districts.

U.S. Rep. Rodney Davis, R-Taylorville, filed to run for re-election in the 13th Congressional District, along with Democrats Erik Jones of Edwardsville, Betsy Dirksen Londrigan of Springfield, and Jonathan Ebel from Urbana. Democrat David Gill of Bloomington had not filed as of midday.

U.S. Rep. Darin LaHood, R-Peoria, filed to run for re-election in the 18th Congressional District, as did GOP primary challenger Donald Ray Rients from Benson and Democrat Brian Deters of Morton.

McLean County Races

Half of all McLean County Board seats are up for election in 2018, one from each district. So far, there’s only one contested race, in District 2. County Board vice chair Jim Soeldner, a Republican from Ellsworth, filed to run for re-election. Democrat David Siebert also filed in District 2.

Other candidates filing for McLean County Board as of midday Monday:

  • District 1 – Jeremiah Houston, Republican. Incumbent Republican Don Cavallini is not seeking re-election.
  • District 4 – Logan Smith, Democratic challenger. The incumbent is Republican Mark Johnson, who has not yet filed.
  • District 5 – David Selzer, Republican incumbent • District 7 – Ryan Scritchlow, Republican incumbent
  • District 8 – Paul Segobiano, Democratic incumbent
  • District 10 – Chuck Erickson, Republican incumbent

Democrat Nikita Richards filed to run for McLean County clerk. She’s expected to face incumbent Republican Kathy Michael, who has not yet filed.

McLean County Sheriff Jon Sandage has filed for re-election.

WGLT depends on financial support from users to bring you stories and interviews like this one. As someone who values experienced, knowledgeable, and award-winning journalists covering meaningful stories in central Illinois, please consider making a contribution.