IWU Names Search Committee For New President | WGLT

IWU Names Search Committee For New President

Sep 4, 2019

Illinois Wesleyan named a 12-person committee to find the private university's 20th president.

The committee includes members of the university's Board of Trustees, faculty, staff, and one student.

“The transition of presidential leadership is among the most important events in the life of a university,” IWU Board of Trustees Chair Timothy J. Szerlong said. “The committee will begin its work immediately with the objective of conducting a thorough national search.”

Committee members include:

  • Thomas Lawrence, Board of Trustees vice chair and retired tax managing partner at Ernst & Young LLP, Chicago
  • Herbert A. Getz, president at Aspen Creek Partners Inc., Naperville
  • Colleen Kannaday, president at Advocate BroMenn Medical Center, Normal
  • Michael Mason, senior vice president and chief security officer at  Verizon Communications, Lebanon, N.J.
  • Sundeep V. Mullangi, managing director in investment research at PPM America, Chicago
  • Dr. Laura C. Randolph, plastic surgeon, Bloomington
  • Steven J. Wannemacher, vice chair of the board at Heritage Enterprises Inc., Bloomington
  • Mary Coleman, IWU associate professor and chair of philosophy
  • Abigail Kerr, IWU associate professor of psychology and chair of neuroscience
  • Kevin Sullivan, IWU associate dean of Curricular and Faculty Development and professor of religion
  • Michael Thompson, IWU associate vice president for institutional research, planning and evaluation
  • Lok Wah Chook, IWU nursing major

According to the release, IWU will also utilize the services of WittKieffer, an international search firm.

In addition to the 12 is one non-voting member who is tasked with identifying and testing the validity of biases and assumptions that may arise from the group. That member is Sharla Brown-Ajayi, IWU senior administrative specialist in the Provost and Dean of the Faculty Office.

Eric Jensen announced his retirement in May from the presidency he held for four years.

People like you value experienced, knowledgeable and award-winning journalism that covers meaningful stories in Bloomington-Normal. To support more stories and interviews like this one, please consider making a contribution.