Unit 5 Approves SafetyTechnology, Swear In New Board Member | WGLT

Unit 5 Approves SafetyTechnology, Swear In New Board Member

Apr 27, 2016

Unit 5 Board Members meet for the first time with new member Joseph Cleary
Credit Melissa Schoper

  The Unit 5 school board has approved new safety and fire protection technology to be put in Unit 5 schools. Nine schools will receive additional security cameras. Three schools plan to repair broken equipment. 

Money to pay for the changes will come from District fire prevention and safety funds. Just over 11 thousand dollars will be spent on these improvements. Board member Mike Trask said there are around 75 additional improvements happening to Unit 5 schools over the summer break.Unit Five hopes to complete the improvements before school starts in the fall.

The board swore in new member Joseph Cleary during their meeting last night. Cleary is taking over for former Vice President Denise Schuster. Schuster announced in March she and her family would be moving from Illinois due to a job transfer. Cleary said he is excited to help improve students learning experience while in Unit 5 schools. He is a technology educator at Illinois State University.

Board member Jim Hayek Jr. was elected Vice President in Schuster’s place. Meta Mickens-Baker was re-elected as board president in a unanimous vote. Gail Ann Briggs remains secretary of the board.