NPR from Illinois State University
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00
0:00
Available On Air Stations

The 2022 midterms are underway. Here's the calendar of primary elections

In this May 21, 2019, file photo, "I Voted Today" stickers are displayed at a polling place in Philadelphia.
Matt Rourke
/
AP

Updated August 9, 2022 at 2:57 PM ET

The first midterm election of a president's tenure historically favors the party out of power. In 2022, that's the Republican Party. Democrats, meanwhile, will this year defend their narrow congressional control, along with key governorships.

Ahead of November's general election, the major parties are picking their nominees.

Texas kicked off the midterms in March, and things really got into gear in May, when voters in 12 other states, including Pennsylvania and Georgia, cast primary ballots. Key states including Nevada followed in June.

Here's the primary calendar. Click on any state where contests have already happened to see key race results:

March

Tuesday, March 1

  • Texas

  • May

    Tuesday, May 3

  • Indiana
  • Ohio
  • Tuesday, May 10

  • Nebraska
  • West Virginia
  • Tuesday, May 17

  • Idaho
  • Kentucky
  • Oregon
  • Pennsylvania
  • North Carolina
  • Tuesday, May 24

  • Alabama
  • Arkansas
  • Georgia
  • Texas (runoffs)

  • June

    Tuesday, June 7

  • California
  • Iowa
  • Mississippi
  • Montana
  • New Jersey
  • New Mexico
  • South Dakota
  • Tuesday, June 14

  • Maine
  • Nevada
  • North Dakota
  • South Carolina
  • Tuesday, June 21

  • Virginia
  • Alabama (runoffs)
  • Arkansas (runoffs for state legislative races)
  • Georgia (runoffs)
  • Tuesday, June 28

  • Colorado
  • Illinois
  • New York (primaries for U.S. House were moved to August)
  • Oklahoma
  • Utah
  • Mississippi (runoffs)
  • South Carolina (runoffs)

  • July

    Tuesday, July 19

  • Maryland

  • August

    Tuesday, August 2

  • Arizona
  • Kansas
  • Michigan
  • Missouri
  • Washington
  • Thursday, August 4

  • Tennessee
  • Tuesday, August 9

  • Connecticut
  • Minnesota
  • Wisconsin
  • Vermont
  • Saturday, August 13

  • Hawaii
  • Tuesday, August 16

  • Alaska
  • Wyoming
  • South Dakota (runoffs if needed)
  • Tuesday, August 23

  • Florida
  • New York (U.S. House)
  • Oklahoma (runoffs if needed)

  • September

    Tuesday, September 6

  • Massachusetts
  • Tuesday, September 13

  • Delaware
  • New Hampshire
  • Rhode Island

  • November

    Tuesday, November 8

  • Election Day
  • Louisiana (open primaries)

  • December

    Saturday, December 10

  • Louisiana (runoffs if needed)
  • Copyright 2022 NPR. To see more, visit https://www.npr.org.

    Tags

    Ben Swasey is an editor on the Washington Desk who mostly covers politics and voting.
    Related Content