NPR from Illinois State University
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations
Issues at WGLT's transmitter site are temporarily limiting our broadcast signal to low power. Thanks for your patience as we make repairs.
Local News

21 candidates file for McLean County Board seats on the 1st day

McLean County petition filing sign
Eric Stock
A sign directs petition filers for political candidates inside the Government Center in Bloomington.
Updated: March 7, 2022 at 2:21 PM CST
This story was update up include additional candidate filings throughout the day.

A line of candidates seeking election to the McLean County Board awaited county election authorities Monday morning seeking to be first on the ballot for the spring primary election.

The McLean County Clerk’s office reported 16 candidates were in line to file at 8 a.m. at the Government Center in downtown Bloomington. Fifteen candidates filed at the start of the day for County Board seats ahead of the June 28 primary, while six additional candidates filed after the 8 a.m. start.

County Clerk Kathy Michael was the only candidate to file for countywide office at the start of the day. County clerk, sheriff and treasurer are all on the ballot for four-year terms.

All 20 County Board seats are on the ballot, following the once-per-decade redrawing of the political maps.

The new McLean County Board districts.

Seven of the County Board candidates who filed are incumbents (County Board Chair John McIntyre, Beverly Bell, Chuck Erickson, Elizabeth Johnston, Jim Rogal, Susan Schafer and George Wendt), while an eighth candidate could be installed on the County Board this week.

Matt Coates was the only candidate to apply for a vacant seat in District 4. The board is expected to fill that seat on Thursday. Coates would replace Benjamin Webb, who moved out of the district.

Multiple candidates filed at 8 a.m. in the same district. That will set up lotteries for top ballot placement in districts 4, 8, 9 and 10. The lottery has been scheduled for March 16 at 10 a.m. at the Government Center, room 102.

Michael said a date for the lottery has not been set, but it will be held within nine days after the filing period ends on March 14. If multiple candidates file for a seat after 4 p.m. on March 14, they also will be placed in a lottery for the last slot on the ballot.

The general election will be held Nov. 8. The McLean County clerk’s office plans to keep an updated list of candidate filings on its website.

Three candidates have also filed for judicial seats in the 11th Judicial Circuit that includes McLean County. They each turned in nominating petitions at the Illinois State Board of Elections in Springfield, along with candidates for state and federal offices. Amy McFarland and Don Knapp both filed in the Republican primary for the 11th Judicial Circuit. Carla Barnes is running as a Republican for 11th Circuit court judge after she was appointed in January to fill a vacancy following Scott Drazewski’s retirement.

County Board candidate filings (as of 5 p.m. Monday). Two board members will be elected in each district.

  • District 2 (southeast McLean County)
    Bill Friedrich, Republican (incumbent)
    Jim Soeldner, Republican (incumbent)
  • District 3 (southwest McLean County)
    Lyndsay Bloomfield, Republican (incumbent)
    Fay Freeman-Smith, Democrat
    George Wendt, Republican (incumbent)
  • District 4 (northwest Normal)
    Matt Coates, Democrat
    Jim Rogal, Democrat (incumbent)
  • District 5 (north central and east Normal)
    Elizabeth Johnston, Democrat (incumbent)
    John McIntyre, Republican (incumbent)
  • District 6 (Uptown Normal and Illinois State University campus)
    Beverly Bell, Democrat (incumbent)
  • District 7 (east Bloomington)
    Geoff Tompkins, Republican
  • District 8 (west Bloomington)
    Jeanne Biles, Democrat
    Lea Cline, Democrat (incumbent)
    Vicki Schultz, Republican
    Gary Stevens, Republican
  • District 9 (south Bloomington)
    Brandy Elmore, Democrat
    Natalie Roseman-Mendoza, Democrat
    Annette Fellows, Republican
    Susan Schafer, Republican (incumbent)
  • District 10 (far east Bloomington, Normal)
    Chuck Erickson, Republican (incumbent)
    William Holditch, Republican
Community support is the greatest funding source for WGLT. Donations from listeners and readers means local news is available to everyone as a public service. Join the village that powers public media with your contribution.

Related Content