NPR from Illinois State University
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations
Issues at WGLT's transmitter site are temporarily limiting our broadcast signal to low power. Thanks for your patience as we make repairs.
Local News

4 County Board candidates file as write-ins after getting tossed from primary ballot

Catherine Metsker speaking at podium
Emily Bollinger
McLean County Board member Catherine Metsker was one of five Republican board candidates who were removed from the ballot for not numbering pages on nominating petitions.

Four Republican McLean County Board candidates who were kicked off the ballot for the June primary have filed as write-in candidates.

A judge on Wednesday removed five GOP candidates from the ballot for not numbering pages on their nominating petitions. As of Thursday afternoon, county board chair John McIntyre (District 5, north central and east Normal) and incumbent board member Catherine Metsker (District 1, northern McLean County) have filed as write-ins, along with newcomer candidates Hannah Blumenshine (also District 5) and Vicki Schultz (District 8, west Bloomington).

Parties can slate two candidates to run for two open seats in each district in the general election.

Annette Fellows has not yet filed as a write-in, but she has until one week before the June 28 primary to do so, according to state election rules.

Write-in candidates need at least 24 votes to be placed on the general election ballot in November. None of the write-in candidates are in contested primaries.

The candidates have the option to appeal circuit Judge Jonathan Wright's ruling that overturned a decision by the McLean County Electoral Board. But attorney Jim Ginzkey said he advised them against seeking an appeal before the 4th District Appellate Court, saying a reversal is unlikely.

In all, 34 candidates are vying for 20 county board seats this year, but there are only two contested primary races. Three Republicans have filed for two seats in District 2 (southeast McLean County) — incumbents Bill Friedrich and Jim Soeldner, and challenger Tyler Bahan. In District 9 (south Bloomington), three Democrats have filed for two seats — newcomers Brandy Elmore, Julie Hahn and Natalie Roseman-Mendoza.

WGLT’s local newsroom is expanding, and we’re doing more to tell the stories of Bloomington-Normal. When you support, we report. Contribute during the Spring Fund Drive.

Related Content