NPR from Illinois State University
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

2 incumbents and 2 newcomers win McLean County Board's contested primaries

Natalie Roseman-Mendoza, Brandy Elmore, William Friedrich and Jim Soeldner
WGLT file photos
McLean County Board primary winners (clockwise from top left) Natalie Roseman-Mendoza, Brandy Elmore, William Friedrich and Jim Soeldner

Two incumbent McLean County Board members advanced Tuesday in a three-way race that will enable them to keep their seats in November.

The only Republican primary on the County Board was in District 2 that includes much of southwest McLean County. William Friedrich of rural Heyworth finished as the top vote-getter at close to 48%. Jim Soeldner of Ellsworth also advanced with 31% of the vote. Challenger Tyler Bahan of Saybrook came in third at 21%.

Friedrich and Soeldner, the board’s vice chair, are poised to win reelection. No Democrats have filed to run in that district.

In District 9, which covers south Bloomington, three Democrats were competing for two seats. Natalie Roseman-Mendoza (45%) and Brandy Elmore (29%) had the two highest vote totals, while Julie Hahn secured 26% of the vote.

Roseman-Mendoza and Elmore will be on the November ballot. The district is currently represented by Republicans Susan Schafer and Lyndsay Bloomfield. Schafer is seeking re-election in that district, Bloomfield is not.

Thirty-five candidates are seeking election to the McLean County Board, but most were uncontested in the primary.

Five Republican candidates, including County Board chair John McIntyre, had to file as write-ins after a judge threw out their nominating petitions for not numbering pages. Each candidates had to reach a 24-vote minimum to advance to the general election.

The McLean County Clerk’s Office said it will have vote totals for write-in candidates on Wednesday.

All 20 County Board seats are up for election in 2022, a product of redistricting following the latest census. A lottery will determine which candidates will serve four-year-terms and which will get two years.

The general election is Nov. 8.

Community support is the greatest funding source for WGLT. Donations from listeners and readers means local news is available to everyone as a public service. Join the village that powers public media with your contribution.

Eric Stock is the News Director at WGLT. You can contact Eric at
Related Content