© 2023 WGLT
A public service of Illinois State University
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Bloomington High School, District 87 induct 3 into their halls of fame

Anne Wylie-Weiher, Maureen Svob and T. Markus Funk
District 87
From left, Anne Wylie-Weiher, Maureen Svob and T. Markus Funk will be recognized at halftime of Friday night's Bloomington High School homecoming football game following their hall of fame inductions.

Bloomington High School and District 87 have inducted two graduates and a longtime educator into their halls of fame.

T. Markus Funk and Anne Wylie-Weiher are the newest inductees into the Bloomington High School Hall of Fame, according to a district news release.

Funk graduated from BHS in 1987 and went on to teach law at a number of top universities, including Harvard, Yale, Oxford and Chicago. He also prosecuted the country's most extensive mob-murder case, later featured in the Martin Scorsese movie "Casino.”

Wylie-Weiher is a 1964 graduate. She is a two-time cancer survivor who lobbied for cancer research funding. Wylie-Weiher was at the White House when President Bill Clinton signed major breast cancer legislation. She also works with people and families of those diagnosed with mental illness and advocates for better treatment.

District 87 has inducted longtime educator Maureen Svob into its hall of fame. Svob served 32 years as a learning behavior special education teacher at Irving Elementary School. Svob founded an after-school girls’ group and started a sensory garden for students who struggle with sensory and movement disabilities.

The inductees will be recognized at halftime of the Bloomington High School homecoming football game Friday night.

We depend on your support to keep telling stories like this one. You – together with donors across the NPR Network – create a more informed public. Fact by fact, story by story. Please take a moment to donate now and fund the local news our community needs. Your support truly makes a difference.

Eric Stock is the News Director at WGLT. You can contact Eric at ejstoc1@ilstu.edu.
Related Content