© 2022 WGLT
NPR from Illinois State University
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

11 candidates file for Bloomington, Normal councils on 1st day

Town of Normal sign
WGLT file photo

Monday was the first day to submit nominating petitions for the spring municipal elections in Illinois.

Six candidates filed for election to the Normal Town Council, including each of the incumbents whose seats for the at-large council will be on the ballot.

Kathleen Lorenz is seeking a third term on the council. Karyn Smith and Stan Nord have filed for second terms next April.

The three challengers to file are Andy Byars, Karl Sila and Marc Tiritilli. Tiritilli ran unsuccessfully for mayor in 2017 and 2021.

5 file in Bloomington

Five candidates filed petitions in Bloomington and one city council race already has emerged. Jordan Baker, a legislative aide to Republican state Sen. Jason Barickman, and Cody Hendricks, a history teacher at Olympia High School, have filed for the Ward 6 council seat. The ward covers much of downtown and some neighborhoods to the east.

Council member De Urban is not seeking re-election to that seat. Urban was appointed in October 2021 following Jenn Carrillo’s resignation.

Donna Boelen has filed for reelection in Ward 2, which covers southwest Bloomington. Jenna Kearns has filed in Ward 1. That covers includes much of south Bloomington. Kent Lee is running in Ward 8 (southeast Bloomington.)

In Bloomington, Wards 1, 2, 4, 6, and 8 are on the ballot. Ward 1’s seat is to complete the remainder of Jamie Mathy’s unexpired term.

The general election is set for April 4, 2023. A primary election will be held Feb. 28 if five or more candidates file for one of the seats.

Municipal races in Bloomington-Normal are nonpartisan.

City of Bloomington
The new Bloomington ward map, adopted July 25, 2022.
We depend on your support to keep telling stories like this one. You – together with NPR donors across the country – create a more informed public. Fact by fact, story by story. Please take a moment to donate now and fund the local news our community needs. Your support truly makes a difference.

Eric Stock is the News Director at WGLT. You can contact Eric at ejstoc1@ilstu.edu.
Related Content