NPR from Illinois State University
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations
Local News
WGLT is committed to helping you become an informed voter ahead of the April 6 local election.

4 Elected To District 87 School Board

District 87 school board candidates
District 87 school board candidates (clockwise from upper left) Brigette Beasley Gibson, Elizabeth Fox Anvick, Fitzgerald Samedy, and Chuck Irwin.

Four candidates won four open seats on the District 87 school board on Tuesday—although one of them received far fewer votes than the others.

Fitzgerald Samedy faced criticism for his support of controversial former District 87 candidate Jon Reed. Reed eventually withdrew from the race after his past racist and misogynist social media posts came to light during the campaign. Samedy and Reed were running together and shared campaign signs. Samedy later tried to distance himself from Reed. Samedy once announced plans to quit the race himself, but later changed his mind.

Samedy received 2,656 votes. The other candidates in the race (incumbents Brigette Beasley Gibson, Elizabeth Fox Anvick and Chuck Irwin) received 3,700-4,000, according to the Bloomington Election Commission. That suggests Samedy lost some votes over the controversy. Regardless, he won a four-year term on the board because there were only four candidates in the race.

With District 87 Superintendent Barry Reilly set to retire next year, the school board will be tasked with searching for a new leader.

There's no subscription fee to listen or read our stories. Everyone can access this essential public service thanks to community support. Donate now, and help fund your public media.

Related Content