Incumbents Re-Elected To Unit 5 School Board | WGLT

Incumbents Re-Elected To Unit 5 School Board

Apr 2, 2019

Six incumbents won re-election to the Unit 5 school board Tuesday, with two recent appointees fending off a challenge from a former district employee.

Amy Roser and Kelly Pyle appeared to hold onto their seats, defeating challenger LaNell Greenberg. In McLean County Roser won 38 percent of the vote, Pyle earned 34.5 percent, and Greenberg trailed with 27 percent. Votes were still being tallied in Woodford County as of 10:30 p.m. Tuesday.

Roser and Pyle were both appointed to the both last summer. Both work at Illinois State University. 

“I’m proud of my campaign and the way my team decided to run it,” Greenberg said in a concession late Tuesday on Facebook. “Thanks to everyone who supported me and voted! Now, what to do with my Wednesday evenings? The possibilities are endless.” 

That was the only contested Unit 5 board race, based on geographic limitations. Incumbents Alan Kalitzky, Barry Hitchins, Mike Trask, and Meta Mickens-Baker were all re-elected.

There were no contested races in Bloomington-based District 87.

People like you value experienced, knowledgeable and award-winning journalism that covers meaningful stories in Bloomington-Normal. To support more stories and interviews like this one, please consider making a contribution.