Koos, Tiritilli File For Normal Mayor; Many Newcomers In B-N Races | WGLT

Koos, Tiritilli File For Normal Mayor; Many Newcomers In B-N Races

Nov 16, 2020

Mayor Chris Koos and challenger Marc Tiritilli both turned in their nominating petitions to the Town of Normal first thing Monday morning to set the stage for a rematch in the mayor’s race next April.

So far, only one candidate has filed for Bloomington mayor.

Monday was the first day to file nominating petitions for the spring 2021 municipal election.

Koos, the four-term incumbent, and Tiritilli, an instructor at Illinois Wesleyan University, will take part in a lottery to determine ballot placement for mayor. Koos defeated Tiritilli by 11 votes in 2017. 

There also will be a lottery to determine ballot placement for six candidates who filed for three at-large seats on the town council: incumbent Kevin McCarthy, former Republican Illinois House candidate David Paul Blumenshine, Steve Harsh, Brad McMillan, Karl Sila and A.J. Zimmerman, who chairs the town’s planning commission.

Several candidates have expressed interest in succeeding Tari Renner as Bloomington mayor, but as of Monday afternoon, only entrepreneur and business consultant Michael Straza had filed.

Renner said last month he won't seek a third term

Bloomington will have contested races for at least four of five city council seats on next spring's ballot. In Ward 3 (east Bloomington), Derek Mead and Sheila Montney filed for the seat currently held by Mboka Mwilambwe.

Mwilwambwe, who is the longest-serving city council member at nine years, hasn’t declared his intentions, but he has taken out petitions for mayor.

In Ward 5 (north along Veterans Parkway), Patrick Lawler and Nick Becker have filed. Incumbent Joni Painter hasn’t said whether she plans to seek re-election.

In Ward 7 (northwest Bloomington), Daniel Freburg and Mollie Ward have filed. Last week, the city council appointed Ward to fill the remaining six months of the current term, following alderman Scott Black’s resignation.

In Ward 9 (northeast Bloomington), Jim Fruin and Tom Crumpler filed for the seat. Incumbent Kim Bray hasn’t said whether she will seek a second term. Fruin served 10 years on the council from 2007 to 2017, when he not seek re-election.

In Ward 1, incumbent Jamie Mathy has been the only candidate to file.

The deadline to file is Nov. 23.

Candidates elected in Normal next spring will make more than their predecessors. The town council in 2018 approved increasing the mayor’s salary from $18,000 to $32,000 and town council members pay will rise from $4,800 to $6,800.

Filing for school board races is for Dec. 14-21. District 87 and Unit 5 will both have three seats up for election.

There's no subscription fee to listen or read our stories. Everyone can access this essential public service thanks to community support. Donate now, and help fund your public media.