Lincoln Award Recipients Announced | WGLT

Lincoln Award Recipients Announced

Feb 12, 2016

NPR Weekend Edition host Scott Simon, right, with WGLT's Willis Kern, is one of this year's Order of Lincoln honorees.
Credit Staff

A former U.S. transportation secretary, the founder of a breast cancer charity and an NPR host are recipients of this year's Order of Lincoln Awards. Illinois Gov. Bruce Rauner is announcing today the six people receiving the state's highest honor this year for professional achievement and public service.

This year's winners include Susan G. Komen for the Cure founder Nancy Goodman Brinker, former U.S. Transportation Secretary Ray LaHood and CME Group chairman emeritus Leo Melamed. Other recipients include NPR ``Weekend Edition Saturday'' host Scott Simon, Illinois Poet Laureate Kevin Stein and retired Caterpillar president Robert Gilmore.

The awards will be presented May 7 in Peoria.