NPR from Illinois State University
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations
Local News

Carl Teichman Named Normal's Citizen Of The Year

Charlie Schlenker
Normal Citizen of the Year Carl Teichman speaks with reporters Thursday, July 27, 2017, at Heartland Community College.

Carl Teichman, a longtime community servant and Illinois Wesleyan University administrator, was named Normal’s 2017 Citizen of the Year on Thursday.

Teichman accepted the honor at an event at Heartland Community College. Mayor Chris Koos made the announcement.

“Carl is one of the most humble, respected, caring and engaged individuals in Normal,” said Koos. “His leadership impact is demonstrated by his willingness to accept any call to action, every request for assistance, and each opportunity to serve.”

"Carl is one of the most humble, respected, caring and engaged individuals in Normal."

Teichman is the director of government and community relations for Illinois Wesleyan University. He is a past president of the McLean County Regional Planning Commission. He has also served as a member of the “Main Street – A Call for Investment” Planning Committee. Carl has been an active business leader in the community as a member of the board of directors of the McLean County Chamber of Commerce.

This year is the 60th anniversary of Normal’s Citizen of the Year honor.

“(Carl’s) modest approach, calm demeanor and highest ideals demonstrate his exceptional character and leadership which define why Carl Teichman has been selected as the 2017 Citizen of the Year,” Koos said. “We truly appreciate Carl’s community involvement and passion to make Normal the best it can be for years to come.”

Teichman told the crowd Thursday that he was surprised and thankful to receive the honor.

“I do my part, and everyone in this room does your part,” Teichman said. “That’s one of the reasons this is such a great community.”

Here are some other recent winners of the Citizen of the Year honor:

  • Mandava Rao 2016
  • Quincy Cummings 2015
  • Dan & Kathy Steadman 2014
  • Al & Linda Bowman 2013
  • Myra Gordon 2012
  • Wendell Hess 2011
  • David Wiant 2010
  • Jill Hutchison 2009
  • Jeanne Moonan 2008
  • Betty Kinser 2007

WGLT depends on financial support from users to bring you stories and interviews like this one. As someone who values experienced, knowledgeable, and award-winning journalists covering meaningful stories in central Illinois, please consider making a contribution.

Related Content